Amy’s top ten…

 …reasons for home schooling!

10. No sitting in car lines, car-pooling or waiting at the bus stop in the rain.  

9. You get to spend A LOT of time with your kids!   Ok, that one could go both ways! 🙂

8. You can schedule a family vacation whenever you want.

7. You never have to attend PTA meetings.

6.  Your kids can go to school in their pajamas and the teacher can too! (Not that we’ve ever tried that.)

5. You can declare it’s  a “snow day” and take the day off, even if you live in Florida!

4. You’ll never have to buy and eat 20 candy bars because your kid didn’t sell enough of them for the annual school fundraiser! (Ok, that one could definitely work both ways!)

 3. You’ll never have to stay up late to finish (oops, I mean help your child finish) meaningless busy-work or a ridiculous science project.

2.  You can choose the curriculum that is best suited for your child.

And #1:

You and your children can talk about and practice your faith throughout the school day without…

… the principal telling you that you’re politically incorrect

…the school board scolding you for infringing on the rights of  others

… or the teachers contradicting the moral values and theological beliefs you’re trying to instill in your kids

[Disclaimer and Qualifier: This is meant to be a semi-humorous, semi-serious list of some of my reasons for home schooling my kids, not a judgment against anyone who chooses to put their kids in school. While I’m happy with the results we’ve seen with home schooling I am not a home schooling mom who believes it is the only or best option for everyone. At his point in life, it just happens to work for us. By the way, if your kids are in school and they’re selling chocolate candy bars don’t hesitate to send them my way! :-)]

4 Responses to Amy’s top ten…

  1. Dawn Tipton says:

    Hi Amy- Thanks for visiting my blog- I love yours! Such a good Catholic witness!
    Hope to see you at the next JMJ Mom’s Night Out!

    Dawn

  2. amyridgewell says:

    Haha, this was funny. I have often pondered homeschooling vs. public/private schooling. Now, you know I love you and the girls very much. They are honestly two of the most well behaved children I have ever encountered. I have however, met several home-schooled children who did not have social skills conducive to the “real world.” I am not saying all children and certainly not yours. I think your girls are involved in other things and interact with other children. I am just saying that some home-school kids are SO sheltered that the real world is kind of culture shock for them. IWhat I am getting to/asking is how is it or how do you feel about this? Granted, the public school system may give children the time of exposure and social interaction that would make home life a culture shock. I think you do an amazing job with the girls. I really see pros and cons here. How is it that you balance this? One day…like…ya know…in a galaxy far, far away if I felt God called me to be a Mom, I wonder…what I would do.

    • Amy says:

      Hi Amy-
      In the busyness of the last couple of weeks I forgot to respond. Good to see you the other night. So you’re thinking about home schooling in the distant future? Honestly I can assure you that socialization of my kids is the least of m concerns. There may have been a time when most home-schooled kids lacked opportunities for social interaction or some families sheltered their kids too much. But most of the home school families I know have well adjusted kids. One thing to think about is the fact that home schooling allows your kids the chance to socialize with diverse groups of people. Rather than spending 6-7 hours a day in a classroom with kids their age they are interacting with children of all ages, adults and seniors throughout the day. Isn’t this a more accurate picture and experience of the “real world?” I mean besides being in school and a few extra curricular activities, when in our adult lives will ever spend 6-8 hours a day in a group of people who are the same age as us? Once they leave high school they will rarely experience that homogeneous setting again. In some respects the home school student is better prepared for college because they are used to interacting and socializing with people of all ages. I saw this first hand when I taught at the college. The teen-aged home schoolers who took my classes were able to respectfully converse with the single mom in her thirties, their peers or the occassional senior who was auditing my class.

      Of course there will always be the token home schooler who is socially awkward but in my opinion that’s more a function of their family than the nature of home schooling. And as far as being prepared for the temptations of the real world, well, that too has more to do with the parents, the freedom they give and the growing boundaries they set for their kids as they become young adults. I know plenty of public school kids who went away to college and went a little wild because they weren’t prepared for the freedom.

      Hope that answers your question. Can’t wait for the day I meet those little Amy’s. 🙂

      A.

Leave a Reply

