Ella and Her “New” Sister

 

Scene: It’s Friday, February 12th, 2010, the day before Claire makes her first confession in the Sacrament of Reconciliation. I’m busy cleaning the bathroom sinks when the girls come charging into the room. They’re fighting over something and Ella is clearly annoyed with her big sister.

Ella: I want a new sister.

[I don’t think I’ve heard that one before. Claire must have made her really mad]

Ella: Dad’s gonna’ bring home a new sister for me on Wednesday.

Claire: No he’s not.

Ella: Yes he is and it’s gonna’ be one of the Haitian orphans who needs a home.

[News to me. I give Ella my “where in the world did you come up with that idea”  look.]

Ella: Joking! But I do want a new sister.

Claire: Yeah, well you’re getting a new sister tomorrow.

[Sounds like Claire is looking to one-up her little sister. I wonder what country her orphan is coming from. Meanwhile Ella looks confused. She raises her right eyebrow just like her Dad…and you thought I was the expressive one in this marriage!]

Me: So, is the new orphan sister arriving tomorrow instead, Claire?

Claire: No Mom. Don’t you remember?

  [At this point I haven’t a clue as to what she’s talking about or where she’s going with this. Then she comes over and whispers in my ear…]

 Claire: Remember… tomorrow…my first confession… I’ll be like a new sister, right Mom?

This was not all what I was expecting to hear. I was speechless. All I could do was nod my head and smile. And then immediately I was reminded of these verses… 

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come! All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation…We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God. (2 Corinthians 5:17-18, 20) 

Claire’s understanding of the gift of the Sacrament of Reconciliation couldn’t be more simple, profound, beautiful or right on: God’s forgiveness makes us new!

So, it looks like Ella really is getting a new sister. I just hope she’s not disappointed when she finds out it’s not a Haitian orphan girl. 🙂

4 Responses to Ella and Her “New” Sister

  1. j says:

    ah… hahaha classic and adorable! tell ella i will gladly donate a brother to her!

  2. Wendy says:

    This brought tears to my eyes. What a sweet childlike comment that is full of faith!!

  3. Amy says:

    Hi Wendy-

    Thanks for dropping in. I gave a copy of this post to our Director of Religious Education. She asked if it was going to make her cry. My hope is it will make her smile as she’s reminded of the important role she and the other teachers have in helping to raise up the kids in our parish in the faith.

    A.

  4. amyridgewell says:

    I didn’t cry at work.

Leave a Reply

