Mind Reading 101

Ella has this habit of telling you what you’re thinking or feeling. Usually it’s when she knows she’s done something wrong and she’s in trouble. She’s also my “glass is half empty melancholy baby”  so her mind reading usually goes something like this…You’re thinking you don’t like me…Or….You’re thinking I’m stupid...Or…You’re thinking you’re mad at me

I’m constantly reminding her that she shouldn’t tell me or anyone else what they are thinking. Today was no exception. This morning I asked her to put some of her toys away and she gave me one of her “I’m not going to do it” looks and then she did her mind reading thing again. Our conversation went like this…

Me: Ella you can’t go outside with Claire until you put your things away.

Ella: You’re mad at me.

Me: No I’m not mad. And Ella, please don’t tell me how I feel. You don’t know what I’m feeling.

Ella: You’re thinking I’m stupid.

Me: No, I don’t think you’re stupid. And please don’t tell me what I’m thinking. You can’t read my mind.  

Ella: Mom, you love me don’t you?

Me: Yes, of course I do.

Ella: See, I can too read your mind.

 Did I mention that she’s a little too clever for her own good?  

Score one for Ella.

One Response to Mind Reading 101

  1. Jessica says:

    Ella is one clever little girl… :c) Good luck when she gets older!

Leave a Reply

