Car-Schooling, Claire and Childlike Faith

 

I haven’t posted much this month. March has been busy.

This week we’re back to schooling and making the most of the last few weeks of Lent 2009. We’re counting down the days with our family friend, “Miss Jessica, ” as she waits to be baptized, confirmed and receive her first Communion at the Easter Vigil.  We’re also trying to make it to daily Mass more often. Of course that always results in interesting conversations  with the girls. Here’s a scene from the drive home from daily Mass last Thursday.

Scene: I’m behind the wheel patiently 🙂 navigating the snowbird traffic our county is so well-known for at this time of the year (in case you’re wondering I was going the speed limit). The girls are watching an educational DVD on volcanoes. “Car time” is social studies and science time (a.k.a.  car-schooling).

Claire: Mom, can you turn down the volume? I have a question.

[Anticipating another question about volcanoes–one  to which I probably won’t have the answer–I stop myself before saying we’ll look that up on the internet too.]

Me: Yes Claire, what is it?

[Long pause]

Claire: Jesus is in heaven right?

Me: (Ok, I can answer that one) Yes.

[Another long pause]

Claire: So if you die and you get to go to heaven then you’ll see Jesus right?

Me: (Wondering where she’s going with this line of thought) Yes.

[Third long pause. Smoke is rising like a volcano from Claire’s brain because she’s thinking so hard]

Claire: Mom, I think I’d like to die now so that I could go and be with Jesus forever.

[My turn to pause. So, this is childlike faith: No worldly attachments, ambitions, desires or fears–just faith and a longing to be with Jesus.

Me: You know what Claire, I can’t think of any place I’d rather be than with Him.

 

Jesus, give me the grace to mature and have childlike faith: To believe and trust without reservation and to desire eternity with you more than anything else. Amen

4 Responses to Car-Schooling, Claire and Childlike Faith

  1. Jessica says:

    Claire is too cute…I wish I had that kind of faith.

  2. Amy says:

    Me too Jess. Maybe we can learn a thing or two from Claire.

  3. Jessica says:

    I was going to insert some sort of witty comment about math or something… but… it’s just not right. Haha.

    Claire and Ella already teach me a lot… they really do take after their mom.

  4. […] at her young age, she knows her “no” right now is not the final word. It’s not the first time her childlike trust has spoken to my heart and I have a feeling it won’t be the […]

Leave a Reply

