Hide and Seek

 

A woman’s heart should be so hidden in God that a man has to seek Him just to find her.

-Max Lucado

 

Dear Claire and Ella:

Today you’re too young to fully understand this quote. Right now you’re far more interested in jumping on the trampoline with your daddy and playing hide and seek with your friends than you are in matters of love. But, when you are older, should you decide that God is calling you to married life, I want you to remember this quote and bind its truth to your heart.

There will come a time when men will seek after your heart and try to win it with their charm and the things of this world. And when they do, remember this, you are a beloved daughter of God, hidden in Christ Jesus. And this is where your heart should be–hidden in Christ and set upon the treasures of heaven. 

If you hide your heart in Christ you will not be impressed by men with earthly treasures. You will not be swept off your feet by vain ambition and temporal attraction. If you hide your heart in Christ He will rescue you from such worldy distractions as well as the pain and disappointment that comes from following after them.

My beautiful daughters guard your precious hearts and heed the wisdom in these words… hide your heart so deeply in Jesus so that only a man who seeks first Christ and his Kingdom will ever have a chance of finding it.

Love,

Mom 

 

4 Responses to Hide and Seek

  1. Susi Spice says:

    hi there, just waned to say thank you for writing this… i am 27 still searchin for the one. I grew up in a christian home but went away from all for a while and recently (in the last 6 months) have returned back to my faith and going back to church and tonight i had an experience which at both simultaneously being a funny thing that happened it was also a little heart breaking (my post on mr salsa just isnt that into me). I prayed to God to just tell me why it is that he just isnt bringin the right one and I found your post… it was like God meant for me to read it. So thank you for posting it for your daughters and for sharing. I really needed it 🙂 hugs.

  2. Jessica says:

    This is beautiful A. Thanks for sharing.

  3. amyridgewell says:

    Amys unite! This is beautiful. I hope someday that I can instill Godly characteristics in my children (you know like…WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY down the line.)..

    Blessings,

    Amy

  4. Nancy says:

    Read this again…. so beautiful. I’m saving if for my girls!

Leave a Reply

