Merry Christmas!

I haven’t posted in while. December was busy but it was a good kind of busy. Our Advent season was really nice this year. For the most part the girls and I slowed down our schedules on the weekdays. Sure there were play practices, gymnastics, RCIA, music rehearsals and schooling. But, somehow we managed to keep things in perspective and even made some choices about what we wouldn’t do each week so that we could go to mass or make it to church for adoration. Making those choices was good because by the time the week of Christmas arrived it was easy to cross  the non-essentials off of my “to do” list so we could focus on what mattered most instead.

One of the blessings of this Advent season has been being a part of the music at church. Music and writing are two of the cheapest forms of therapy for me. Thanks to Bruno, our church music director (and fearless children’s play director), I’ve received a lot of therapy this Advent. You’ll have to ask Scott if it’s working. I think it must have some benefit because he makes every effort to ensure I have time for music in my life.  Hmmmm…I wonder if Scott’s paying Bruno under the table to let me sing with him. If that’s the case then Bruno may not know what he’s gotten himself into.

One of the more challenging aspects of this Advent for me involved the words “empty” and “poverty.” Much of Advent focuses on emptying oneself of, among many things, oneself,  in order to prepare for the coming of Jesus. And poverty is the very thing into which Christ was born (a lowly manger). I felt challenged this Advent to really examine what it meant for me to be empty and what spiritual poverty looks like in my life (for the poor in spirit will see God).

Should have known better than to ask God to reveal those things to me. Somehow I think God and I got our wires crossed because I didn’t mean for Him to bring new examples of emptiness and poverty into my life. But He has. Let’s just say, God has His work cut out when it comes to me. Could be why I need so much therapy. 🙂

When all is said and done, this Advent season was really blessed. As we celebrate the Christmas season I’m still pondering the things God has shown me. Still praying that I will decrease so that His love will increase in me and flow through me to others.

I hope you’re having a peaceful Christmas season and you have a blessed new year. For those who check in periodically keep dropping by. It’s always my goal to write and post more often. We’ll see if that happens in 2009.

2 Responses to Merry Christmas!

  1. timglass says:

    Merry Christmas to you, Scott and the girls!

    Peace to all of you.

  2. Amy says:

    Thanks Tim. I hope you and your family have a really wonderful Christmas season. May God bless your family in the new year.

Leave a Reply

