Those First Fifteen Minutes…

 

I hate the first 15 minutes of exercise. Hate is a strong word I know, but I really mean it. In those first fifteen minutes every muscle and cell in my body screams “stop, don’t do it, sit down, relax, read a book, have some chocolate or better yet a Blue Moon.”  If only I could skip right to the part where the endorphins kick in. But no such luck. No, I really don’t like those first fifteen minutes.

On the other hand, I love the first fifteen minutes of a family road trip. We stop for Starbucks, pick up donuts at Dunkin’ Donuts (it’s rare that I buy and eat donuts), everyone is happy and excited about our adventure. In those first fifteen minutes no one fights, is bored or whines. No one asks, “Are we there yet?” and no one has to go to the bathroom. Yes, I love the first 15 minutes…but only those 15 minutes. Once those first 15 minutes are over everything changes. I’m not kidding, minute 16 hits and it’s downhill from there.

Why am I thinking about this today?

First, I’m about to head out to the gym and I’m dreading, really dreading those first 15 minutes!

Second, I’m considering taking the girls on a road trip to visit my sister in Georgia. I’m thinking that before I make any final decisions I ought to remind myself about the other 7 hours and 45 minutes. 😉

2 Responses to Those First Fifteen Minutes…

  1. lovinglegacy says:

    hahahah! i’d hop in the car with you for the rest of that trip! climb over the backseat and tackle the whinies, eat the donuts, threaten their sweet little selves when they are grumpy, snuggle with them along the way, sing veggie tales at the top of our lungs… but don’t ask me to work out with you! hee, hee…

  2. Amy says:

    Hey Angela-
    You can bring your five angels and we’ll make it a road trip party.

Leave a Reply

