Doubt and Faith

 

Out of chaos often comes the greatest creativity. And the only thing that can endure deep doubt is faith. You will not allow yourselves to go into the deeper levels of doubting without, in fact, a very strong faith.

Those who can endure great doubt, in my experience, have been those who rise to great faith. Faith gets purified every time you go through the cycle of doubt and failure, saying, “Why do I believe this? Do I believe this at all? What do I base my life on?” On this wheel of fortune just about everything is purified: self-image, God-image, worldview.

from Hope Against Darkness

 

Great Doubt and Great Faith –  two sides of the same coin?

4 Responses to Doubt and Faith

  1. timglass says:

    When you come back to blogging, you come back with a BANG…don’t you!?

    That’s deep. Beautiful and deep. I’ll meditate on this one a while.

  2. Amy says:

    Hi Tim-
    I’ve been off the radar for a while. Received that quote in an email and it kind of hit me on a number of levels.

    Hope all is well with your family and the diaconate journey. I should be around more in the future. I have lots of blog reading to catch up on. 🙂

    Take care-
    Amy

  3. contrarian78 says:

    Hello-saw your blog vis a vis Jennifer Grigoryev’s blog. My own blog is linked in her list as “the mathoms of jad”, or some permutation thereof.

    I’m thankful for your site, for it gives me another chance to read someone’s story that is strikingly similar to my own. I’ve not yet joined the Catholic Church but should be confirmed, etc., before the year ends. Enough of introductions, I wanted to comment on your post in light of who my patron saint will be-St. Thomas the Apostle.

    I read this in Fulton Sheen’s Life of Christ, and fully agree with the idea that our doubt as Christians leads to greater faith.

    “The Lord knew of the skeptical words that Thomas had previously spoken to his fellow Apostles-another proof of His Omniscience. The wound in His side must have been very large, since He asked Thomas to put his hand into it; so also the wounds on his hands must have been large, as Thomas was bidden to substitute a finger for a nail. Thomas’ doubts lingered longer than those of the others, and his extraordinary skepticism is an added proof of the reality of the Resurrection.
    There was every reason to suppose that Thomas did as he was instructed to do, just as there was every reason to suppose that the ten Apostles had done precisely the same on the first Easter evening. The rebuking words of Our Lord to Thomas-to be doubting no longer-also contained an exhortation to believe and to shake off his gloom, which was his besetting sin.
    Paul was not disobedient to the heavenly vision; neither was Thomas. The doubter was so convinced by positive proof that he became a worshiper. Throwing himself on his knees, he said to the Risen Savior:
    My Lord and My God! John 20:28
    In one burning utterance, Thomas gathered up all of the doubts of a depressed humanity to have them healed by the full implications of the exclamation, “My Lord and My God.” It was an acknowledgment that the Emmanuel of Isaiah was before him. He, who was the last to believe, was the first to make the full confession of the Divinity of the Risen Savior.”

  4. Amy says:

    Glad you stopped by and made yourself known.

    I’ve only recently reconnected with Jenn which has been a nice surprise as was your comment. I checked out your blog and enjoyed reading a little about your journey. You’re definitely doing your homework. Your reading list is impressive. But more than that, it’s clear you’re not missing the heart of the Catholic faith. Loved what you shared about St. Therese and her understanding of the gospel.

    Gotta’ love Fulton Sheen. His works have spoken to me on more than one occasion.

    St. Thomas the Apostle. What a great patron saint for a convert. I certainly had plenty of moments of great doubt on my journey. Of course the grace of great faith followed and increases each year.

    I’m sure I’ll drop by your blog in the future. Please let me know when your confirmation is so I can pray for you.

    Drop by anytime.

Leave a Reply

