Summer Blogging Hiatus

I took a week off from blogging at the beginning of June to spend time at the beach with my family and I found myself taking the whole month off. The time with the family was great. I must have enjoyed being “unplugged” from the computer. With the exception of checking my email I’ve  been “off line” for almost five weeks– no posting on my blog and no reading other blogs. It’s been kind of refreshing. Suppose that means I’m not a serious blogger. Or, maybe it means something else. Not sure. I am sure that all four of my blog readers have emailed me wondering where I’ve been and what I’ve been up to :-).  

 

Instead of blogging I’ve been doing a lot more journaling. You know, the good ole’ fashioned pen and paper kind of journaling. I’ve been journaling since I was in high school. I have boxes and boxes of journals that I probably need to burn or have buried with me when I die. There’s something therapeutic about journaling. We have adoration at church on Wednesdays and I usually take my journal with me to record those things He’s speaking to my heart. Sometimes I need to write for me and for God. Journaling is a way for me to empty my head and heart and make space for Him to work in and through me. And believe me, my head is so full of opinions and my ways of thinking that I need to empty it just so I can hear Him speak!

 

June was also arts and crafts month at the Simmons house. When we weren’t in the pool or at the beach we were doing the arts and crafts thing. This non-crafty mom has been tie-dying, painting, making beaded necklaces and decorating sand buckets for our week at the beach in July.  I’m rather impressed with myself.  

 

Other than schooling here and there I’ve kept the girls schedule pretty flexible. Lots of time for playdates with their friends, pool time, and puzzles and popcorn during those summer afternoon storms. I love the slower pace of summer. I think one of the reasons I was attracted to a teaching career was that I enjoyed the “school schedule.”  Even though I had to teach in the summer the session was more laid back and relaxed.  I don’t have the girls in any summer camps this year. Only one week of VBS at the end of July. Aside from that we’re making it up as we go along. I don’t know how much I’ll blog this month either.  Scott, the girls and I are headed to the beach for a week of family time. The following week my folks will be at the beach so we’ll probably go and build some sand castles with them.  I suppose I’ll write when I can.

 

Hope your summer is going well and you can get some down-time too.

One Response to Summer Blogging Hiatus

  1. cooseyj says:

    Well, the “four” of us did miss you. But I am sure more than four people read your blog. :c)

Leave a Reply

