Recovering…writing

I haven’t written much lately. I’m recovering…

…from four weeks of being either sick or taking care of sick kids

…from two weeks of continual practicing to lead 100+ women in worship music at a really cool retreat

…from four very calloused and sore fingers

…from four nights of sleeping in a strange bed at a youth camp without the creature comforts of home.  Well, I did have my own coffee pot and coffee. There are some things you can’t live without! 🙂

…from five days of eating chocolate and breaking all the healthy diet habits in which I profess to believe

…from five days away from my family. I confess I only started missing them on day number three. 🙂

…from three wonderful and exhausting days spent playing the guitar and worshipping the Lord with sisters in Christ whom I’ve grown to love over the years and some new sisters that I’m gettting to know.

and finally

…from six months of sweating it and wondering what I’d gotten myself into by agreeing to learn to play the guitar and lead music.

***

I’m really glad that I stepped out and made some progress in my guitar playing. I needed a deadline to force me to play in front of people and get some of the basic skills down. I still have a long way to go but this was a significant hurdle for me.

That being said, it’s good to be in recovery mode. I’ve put some things on the back burner while preparing for the retreat. Now I can get back into the routine of life and catch up on few things. I’m hoping to find time to write more. I’ve missed it.

Henri Nouwen has this to say about writing:

Writing can be a true spiritual discipline. Writing can help us to concentrate, to get in touch with the deeper stirrings of our hearts, to clarify our minds, to process confusing emotions, to reflect on our experiences, to give artistic expression to what we are living, and to store significant events in our memories. Writing can also be good for thers who might read what we write.

Quite often a difficult, painful, or frustrating day can be “redeemed” by writing about it. By writing we can claim what we have lived and thus integrate it more fully into our journeys. Then writing can become lifesaving for us and sometimes for others too.

I think this is true for me and is in large part why I write. Maybe the coming months will allow me to recover writing.

3 Responses to Recovering…writing

  1. cooseyj says:

    Beautiful. Great job this weekend.

  2. Amy says:

    Hey Jessica-
    I’m glad you stopped by. I so enjoyed serving with you this weekend. You blessed me more than you will know. I hope our paths cross again sometime soon. I’ll keep tabs on you via your blog. Come by anytime.
    Amy

  3. cooseyj says:

    Hey! Yea! I will def keep stopping by. Are you going Sat? I am not positive I will be there, but I’m sure it will be wonderful either way. You don’t attend church too far from where I live, so assuming you don’t drive 45 min to church, maybe we can accidentally meet each other somewhere. Hehe.

Leave a Reply

