On my mind…

Here’s what I’m thinking about this morning…

*** 

SEX:

Bet that got your attention! Now let me clarify…

After finally securing childcare (thanks Mom and Dad!), I’m headed off to a Christopher West seminar sponsored by my church. If you’re not familiar with Christopher West and his work then you should be. How’s that for telling you what you should do? J. Ok, so what does that have to do with sex?

West is known for his explanations and insights on Pope John Paul II’s teachings on the Theology of the Body; among other things he talks about sex, love, our bodies and the Sacrament of Marriage.

It’s teaching that is desperately needed in a culture (Christian culture included) that distorts God’s purposes for our bodies and sex. I hear West is a dynamic speaker with a gift for presenting and explaining the truth. I’m looking forward to hearing what he has to say.

West’s books include Good News about Sex and Marriage, The Theology of the Body Explained and The Theology of the Body for Beginners. 

*** 

SUNSHINE: 

The weather here in Florida is pretty “blah” (yes, that’s my official meteorological term for it).  It’s cloudy, constantly drizzling rain and the sun hasn’t appeared for days.  

I wouldn’t mind it if it were cold and we could sit next to the fire with hot chocolate and a bunch of books but that’s not the case. It’s just “blah” and very humid outside. Instead of  bouncing on the trampoline, my girls are bouncing off the walls. Not a good state in which to send them off to their grandparents for babysitting. Sorry Mom and Dad!  

*** 

SIN and SELFISHNESS: 

Our foes are really our own distorted thoughts and selfish habits, which wreak more damage than we often imagine.(Magnificat, January 2008, p. 257) 

Boy, ain’t that the truth! 

One Response to On my mind…

  1. timglass says:

    I’m kinda envious that you got to go see [hear] Christopher West speak. Early in my journey, I was given a cd of his talk, “Marriage and the Eucharist”. It was awesome. I’m so glad you and Scott were able to go.

    I received that cd from a friend, who had gotten it from the Mary Foundation. All their stuff is free.

    Blessings to all!

Leave a Reply

