Christmas, Florida Style

scott on beach

***

After weeks of what seems like record heat it’s finally cooling down here in the sunshine state. It’s a “cold” 60 degrees and dropping as I type. Woo Hoo!

We are true Floridians down here (well, at least I am. I’m second generation!). If you were to peek in the window of our home you’d have a good laugh.  We have the fire place going, the back patio doors wide open, my girls are on the patio drinking hot cocoa (they were in the pool earlier this afternoon) and I’m in the kitchen cooking a pot of shrimp corn chowder.

I admit it. I’m desperate for some weather that signals winter and makes one think the traditional Christmas scenes from up north aren’t entirely make believe.  It sure would be nice if the temperature would drop for Christmas day and I could break out the one winter sweater I own.

On the other hand, I do like the fact that everyday last week that I could take my girls to the park without having to bundle them up in snow suits. And the truth is, I’m a Florida girl through and through. I don’t think I could handle a cold weather state for very long. But I still woudn’t mind a good stretch of cold weather every now and then.

Last week our neighborhood had a Christmas block party. As we left the park a Christmas song was blaring through someone’s speakers: “the weather outside is frightful….let it snow, let it snow, let is snow.” Scott turned to me, wiped the sweat from his brow and said “you wanna’ go get some ice cream?”

Sounded good to me.

Yep, it’s Christmas time in Florida.

sunset

Leave a Reply

