Humble thyself…

*** 

 I discovered the Litany of Humility (below) a few years ago in a prayer book. 

I keep a copy of it close by.  It’s one those prayers that God uses to deal with my hideous pride.

I’ve exchanged a few of the words from the original with synonyms more common to our contemporary speech.

My husband and I are convinced that humility is the key to loving one another as Christ loved the church.

Walking in the same humility as Christ is what makes our marriage work. Actually, it’s what makes any relationship work.

If only we’d humble ourselves…O how the love of Jesus would transform our relationships and our environments.

Humility is where it’s at!

 

***

 

Litany of Humility 

O Jesus, meek and humble of heart, hear my prayer: 

From the desire of being esteemed

From the desire of being loved,

From the desire of being extolled,

From the desire of being honored,

From the desire of being praised,

From the desire of being preferred,

From the desire of being consulted,

From the desire of being approved,

Deliver me, Jesus 

From the fear of being humiliated

From the fear of being despised,

From the fear of suffering rebukes,

From the fear of being slandered,

From the fear of being forgotten,

From the fear of being ridiculed,

From the fear of being wronged,

From the fear of being suspected,

Deliver me, Jesus 

That others may be loved more than I,

That others may be esteemed more than I,

That in the opinion of the world, others may increase, and I may decrease,

That others may be chosen and I set aside

That others may be preferred to me in everything,

That others may become holier than I, provided that I may become as holy as I should,

Jesus grant me the grace to desire it.

***

How is Jesus calling you to humble yourself today?

Be still for a moment and ask Him, listen to Him and then obey Him.

One Response to Humble thyself…

  1. timglass says:

    That’s beautiful.

Leave a Reply

