July

 

July was a challenging month. August is proving to have its challenges too.

I could use a number of other descriptive words to paint a picture of what the past few weeks have beeen like. However, I just read something by Henri Nouwen that made me reconsider how I might describe the harder moments of my life. 

Hope that grows out of trust puts us in a different relationship to the hours and days of our lives…We see how the events of this year are not just a series of incidents and accidents, happy or unhappy, but the molding hands of God, who wants us to grow and mature…Even while life continues to seem harried, while it continues to have hard moments, we say, “Something good is happening amid all this.” We get glimpses of how God might be working out his purposes in our days. Time becomes not just something to get through or to manipulate or manage, but the arena of God’s work with us. Whatever happens—good things or bad, pleasant or problematic—we look and ask, “What might God be doing here?” We see the events of the day as continuing occasions to change the heart. [Taken from Turn My Mourning into Dancing by Henri Nouwen]

I like the way Nouwen puts it…”while [life] continues to have hard moments we [can] say, “Something good is happening amid all of this…we [can] look and ask, “What might God be doing here?” 

I can see the hand of God at work in Scott and me during the last month. There are moments when I wonder why certain things had to “go down” the way they did. But I choose to trust our Father and wait patiently for the “hope that grows out of trust.” 

So, July was challenging. August and September might be too. But God is bigger than July, August and September and the months that will follow. In the meantime, I will choose to look for His hand at work in each event and see them as occasions to grow and mature in His love.

Romans 8:28 –And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have called according to His purpose

One Response to July

  1. […] been a while since I posted an installment of “My Story.” My “July” post I said July had been challenging and suggested August and September might prove to be the […]

Leave a Reply

