Surrendering on the Stairmill

I’m still praying that prayer to “be holy.” God is answering my request by asking me to surrender my will, desires and plans. He knows it’s easier to surrender when you’re broken. Wish that weren’t the case. But it is. So, the process of brokenness has begun, yet again. He’s asking me to surrender “the thing in hand” (any Release of the Spirit fans out there will appreciate that phrase). Sometimes it’s so hard to let go of what “I” want. Once again I pray, “not my will, but yours be done Lord.”

As I was climbing my least favorite piece of equipment at the gym (the Stairmill) I could hear the Lord’s call to surrender– to Him, not the Stairmill. I was listening to the Matt Maher song, You Know Who I Am. It’s a simple song with “real” lyrics that call for complete surrender. I’m thinking they were written in a season of brokenness.  Check out the lyrics below…

YOU KNOW WHO I AM  

Verse:

Lord, hear me. I am open. I surrender all my sin. All my pride, gets me no where. Leaves me stranded, empty handed.

So shatter the darkness in my life. As I carry this cross both day and night. All the way. All the way, to heaven. 

Refrain:

You know who I am. Lord please take my hand and lead me into community.

You know who I am please help me to stand falling in love with your family.

Verse: 

I confess, to you Jesus, and to you my brothers and sisters. I have sinned and need forgiveness. Pray for me and I for you.

So shatter the darkness in my life. As I carry this cross both day and night. All the way. All the way, to heaven.

Leave a Reply

